New releases

Defected Releases 40-Track Marshall Jefferson Retrospective Compilation

Chicago house music pioneer Marshall Jefferson has been welcomed into Defected Records’ esteemed House Masters series, a compilation that showcases his vast and impressive output over a five-decade career.

The 40-track retrospective features some of Jefferson’s most well-known solo records, major production credits, key remixes, and underground gems that still get played by selectors today. The compilation includes iconic tracks such as “Move Your Body,” which remains a staple of dancefloors worldwide.

Jefferson, a founding father of Chicago House, has navigated major crossover success while retaining the respect of the electronic music underground. He has worked under various aliases, including Virgo, Jungle Wonz, Truth, and On The House, and has produced for artists such as CeCe Rogers, Curtis McClain, and Evelyn “Champagne” King.

In a statement, Jefferson expressed his honor at being part of the House Masters series, saying, “It’s almost like being in a House Music Hall of Fame; some very talented people have come before me, and I hope I continue their legacy.”

Defected Records’ CEO Wez Saunders praised Jefferson’s impact on house music, saying, “Marshall’s pioneering spirit and timeless sound have shaped the genre’s very essence. This edition of House Masters is a testament to his unparalleled legacy, showcasing his greatest hits and productions that continue to resonate with dancefloors worldwide.”

Pre-order here.

Avatar photo

Arno Wesselink

With a passion for electronic dance music and a love for technology, I'm always on the lookout for the next big thing. From festival lineups to new releases, I'm dedicated to keeping you up-to-date on the latest news and trends. Let's move to the rhythm of innovation together and keep the music alive! - (Contact:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.