VONYC Sessions 2012 Presented by Paul van Dyk

The last 365 days have formed a year to remember for electronic music artisan Paul van Dyk. Inside that time he completed production on his long awaited,corner-turning sixth album, which in turn unlocked a new trove of PvD music. These he’s used to power his extraordinary globe-spanning EVOLUTION stage performances and, of course, his now iconic radio show, VONYC Sessions.

This December van Dyk will leave his final musical mark on the year, with the release of the fourth instalment of the radio broadcast’s mix annual. Featuring the cream of the audio it championed over the last 12 months, it includes tracks from Cosmic Gate, Orjan Nilsen, Tritonal, Judge Jules and of course much from the master himself… This is the year that was. This is ‘VONYC Sessions 2012’.

Life is busy for all of us. Whatever we do, there’s seldom enough chance to think about what happened last month, let alone a whole year. For me the annual ‘VONYC Sessions’ provides that rarest of opportunities – a moment to look back and relive some truly great memories through the power of its best music. I hope you enjoy listening as much as enjoyed compiling and mixing it!– Paul van Dyk, Berlin, November 2012

Week by week, over the last 52, the playlists of VONYC Sessions have built up a picture of another boundary-breaking, standout year of electronic dance music. To encapsulate it van Dyk has draw together the tracks that have generated the most heat on his floors, the most buzz on VONYC Sessions Show and fashioned them into a pair of thrilling, year-honouring mixes.

Heading straight into the thick of the action, Disc One lines up the punch-packing drum structure of Orjan Nilsen’s ‘Endymion’, Lisa Lashes’ tech-threat ‘The Bends’ and Protoculture’s crowd-wowing ‘Cobalt’. Working the mix in masterful peaks and drops, he tempers its tone with the stargazing sounds of Ost & Meyer’s ‘Safari’ and the celestial-ism of Starshifters’ ‘Driveby’. As you’d expect from the double disc compilation, it draws plenty of resource from VANDIT Recordings’ class of 2012. In and amongst them are the razor-sharp synths of Judge Jules ‘The Attack’, (cited by Paul as his ‘favourite track of 2012’), Maarten de Jong’s blood-pumping trancer ‘RAW’ and Sean Tyas and Giuseppe Ottaviani spirited, elevating ‘Arcobaleno’.

Naturally with the release of ‘EVOLUTION’ – his first artist album year in five years – the VONYC Sessions’ tracklists have been supremely stocked with PvD’s own material. From the castaway beauty of ‘The Ocean’, to the unstoppably uplifting ‘Eternity’, its tracks thread the two mixes. The endemic, from-Miami-to-Ibiza EDM of ‘Verano’ (here in its ‘Such A Feeling’ vocal form) to the vocal ache of Plumb’s ‘I Don’t Deserve You’ and the lovers lament of Mix-2 close-out ‘Lost In Berlin, they soundtrack an incredible year.

With ‘Stone Pony’, VANDIT’s latest hot-pick signing Las Salinas’ strike an early harmonic note for the second of ‘VONYC Sessions 2012’s discs. With its low-slung bass, whip-cracking FX and tight percussive loops, the Israeli duo provides a progressive induction to the mix. PvD fully ignites its engines, bringing in the vocal reach of JES (on Cosmic Gate ‘Flying Blind’); channels trancestep with Tritonal’s ‘Slave’ and makes room for more melodic vistas with Jaco’s epic ‘Malaysia’. The breakbeat/dubstep breakdown and killer vocal hook of Jules and Dale Corderoy club rocker ‘Give Me A Reason’ charges the mid-section, whilst at its summit, the poignant vocals of Amba Shepherd on Giuseppe Ottaviani ‘Lost For Words’ finally splits this ‘Session’s atom.

Over 31 tracks PvD picks out the brightest track stars in 2012’s musical galaxy and recalls the year that was. The ultimate Christmas gift for EDMophiles the world over, it’s available thorough all good musical retailors on December 14th.

Tracklist CD 1

01. Paul van Dyk ft. Plumb I Don’t Deserve You Remix Mashup
02. Manuel De La Mare & Alex Kenji Acid as 303 Original Club Mix
03. Orjan Nilsen Endymion Original Mix
04. Maarten de Jong Raw Original Mix
05. Lisa Lashes The Bends Heatbeat Remix
06. Sean Tyas & Giuseppe Ottaviani Arcobaleno Classic Mix
07. Ost & Meyer Safari Original Mix
08. Andrew Bayer & Matt Lange ft. Kerry Leva In And Out Of Phase Original Mix
09. Jerome Isma-ae ft. Zoo Army My Breath Has Been Taken Instrumental Mix
10. Judge Jules The Attack Original Mix
11. F.L.X. Initiation Original Mix
12. Dave Silcox & Matt Nash ft. Chris Warne Change My World Original Mix
13. Paul van Dyk ft. Adam Young Eternity Paul van Dyk & Alex M.O.R.P.H. Club Mix
14. Protoculture Cobalt Original Mix
15. Suncatcher & Mihai M pres. Starshifters Driveby Original Mix

Tracklist CD 2

01. Forgotten ft. Blackfeel White Earth Abstract Vision & Elite Electronic Dub Mix
02. Cosmic Gate & JES Flying Blind Tom Fall Remix
03. Egorythm & Marsbeing Inhale Original Mix
04. Paul van Dyk ft. Austin Leeds & Elijah King Such A Feeling Alex M.O.R.P.H. Remix
05. Las Salinas Stone Pony Original Mix
06. Sequentia & Jaco Crossfire Original Mix
07. Genix Moments Original Mix
08. Tritonal Slave Ben Gold Club Dub
09. Corderoy & Judge Jules Give Me A Reason Original Mix
10. Nitrous Oxide Tiburon Original Mix
11. Noah Neiman They Have Laser Eyes Original Mix
12. Jaco Malaysia Original Mix
13. Stonevalley ft. Shannon Hurley Something To Say Johan Malmgren Dub Remix
14. Giuseppe Ottaviani ft. Amba Shepherd Lost For Words Club Mix
15. Paul van Dyk ft. Arty The Ocean Las Salinas Remix
16. Paul van Dyk ft. Michelle Leonard Lost In Berlin Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix


Buy this release:

[button color=”green” link=”https://itunes.apple.com/nl/album/vonyc-sessions-2012-presented/id580502328″]iTunes[/button]

For news and more info visit:

Avatar photo

Arno Wesselink

Interested in Technology, Business and Photography. Addicted to Electronic Dance Music! - (Contact: arno@edmupdate.com)

One thought on “VONYC Sessions 2012 Presented by Paul van Dyk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.